Thesis Help Needed

blairk55

Thesis Help Needed

Good Morning,

I am currently very frustrated by my master's thesis and I hope someone may be able to provide me with some guidance on literature that I can find to support the work I am doing for my thesis.

I am a human resources manager and when an interviewer comes around to asking about my education (this happens a lot to me), I am asked why I have earned a BA in Philosophy and am pursuing an MALS in Classical Civilizations rather than working toward a degree in human resource development (HRD). 'What value does philosophy/classics (liberal studies in general) have to...' and you can add in several variants to the question but mostly human resource management or business. I've pursued a liberal studies education because I want a breadth of knowledge rather than a narrowly defined set of information that, say, an MBA (a popular career path for my peers) would offer. I already had a career when I decided to return to college and did not need a professional degree.

As I recruit for employees who are not only technically skilled but who have critical thinking skills, I certainly know the value of a broad-based education. A fully educated person makes better decisions than a narrowly educated one and I am always looking for those types of employees (although they are hard to find)! I would like to make a case that a study of the liberal arts gives me critical thinking skills, an understanding of the breadth of the human experience (western as it might be), and an awareness of the universality of the human stories that myths tell, and that business can benefit from an employee with a liberal studies education.